Tags

, , ,

Today I’m afraid of trying something new. It’s not the newness that scares me, but the appearance of newness. I don’t know what I’m doing, but I don’t want other people to know that.

The truth is, I have done it before. I’ve had a blog, I’ve had a business, I’ve been writing for decades. There is nothing new about what I’m doing. The only new thing is the people involved and the topic.

Sometimes I think my dreams are too big. I try to start small, but things just explode in my head until I’m paralyzed with nightmares of fame and fortune. How will I ever start if I don’t allow myself to be small for a while? Why do the goals always have to move further away and higher up? I am going to be small today. Small and new.

Today, I am going to write. I am going to start small. I am going to be new. The more I practice being small and new, the less I will fear.

