Stuff I did in January:

1. Wrote 17516 words as part of WIP500. My goal is to write 500 words each and every day. I missed 7 days in January, but still kept my average above 500 words. The challenge has been perfect so far, and my novel continues to look like a terrible first draft of a novel. I’ve also scribbled out a few short stories that might get more development in the future.

2. Took a trip with the man and the kids across the state to bury the man’s grandfather. It was hard. It wasn’t the first funeral the kids had attended, but it was their first open casket experience. Normally, I would shy away from stuff like that, but the kids wanted to be there. I also don’t want them to think that death is some strange and terrifying thing. So it took a lot of bravery to do the good and important thing, but I think we all came away better for the experience.

3. Watched Season 1 of the BBC’s Sherlock. If you haven’t watched it yet and you’re even slightly interested in brilliant deductions, it’s worth watching.

4. Spent an exorbitant number of hours on Google Plus. I deleted my facebook account last year, thinking that I would save time and energy by having just one social network to manage. Unfortunately (or fortunately?) G+ is full of so many interesting and intelligent writers and homeschoolers and foodies and other randomly creative people that I can barely drag myself away from it most days.

5. Played hours of Skyrim. Because it’s quite possibly the best video game I have ever played. It also has a brilliant soundtrack.

And that’s about all for here. How’s your year going so far?

